“I decided to stop painting, to put away everything I had done, and to start to say the things that were my own.”

Art of Quotation

“I realized that I had things in my head not like what I had been taught – not like what I had seen – shapes and ideas so familiar to me that it hadn’t occurred to me to put them down.

I decided to stop painting, to put away everything I had done, and to start to say the things that were my own.”

— Georgia O’Keeffe, painter


View original post

One thought on ““I decided to stop painting, to put away everything I had done, and to start to say the things that were my own.”

  1. I do like her paintings a lot – she looks like a scientist in labratory on this photo 😉 – makes me think that probably „self – invention” is an important part in artists life ( Frida Kahlo, Cindy Sherman, Paula Becker-Modersohn, Niki de Saint Phalle … ) they all expressed themselve like art too, don’t you think so?,

    Like

Leave a Reply

